Six countries dominate the senior Kyorugi medal table at the Costa Rica Open G2

The teams of Mexico, with eight gold medals, Argentina (3), Brazil (2), Puerto Rico, Costa Rica and Panama, with one gold medal each, were the most outstanding delegations in the Kyorugi of the XIV Costa Rica Open G2 held at the Palace of Sports in Heredia, with 400 competitors on stage.

Mexico, a Latin American country that comes from winning the team title at the WT President’s Cup Pan American last week in Jacksonville, Florida, dominated the team competition by winning half of the golds to be distributed in the senior tournament that awarded 20 points to the World taekwondo world and Olympic rankings.

Two-time Pan American champion (2018 – 2021) Brandon Plaza, already recovered from a hand fracture that prevented him from fighting for his third continental gold in Punta Cana this year, led the podium in the -58kg in a golden day for Mexico with victories by Iker Casas (-68kg), Uriel Gómez (-74kg), José Pastor (-80kg), Brayan Salazar (-87kg), Carlos Sansores (+87kg), Fabiola Villegas (-53kg) and Itzel Velásquez (-62kg).

Argentina, with Tokyo 2020 Olympian and world medalist Lucas Guzman as the main reference by winning gold in the -63kg, completed its trio of gold medals thanks to the performance of Giulia Sendra (-49kg) and Candela Cazzappa (-73kg).

Brazil, on the other hand, with an alternate team made up of international stars, won two gold medals with Aubin De Giovanny (0.54kg) and heavyweight Gabriele Siqueira (+73kg).

Puerto Rican Isabella Diaz (-67kg), Panamanian Karolina Castillo (0.46kg) and local Costa Rican Neshi Lee Lindo (-57kg), were the top performers in their respective divisions.

Competitors from Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, United States, Guatemala, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, India, Jamaica, Japan, Lesotho, Mexico, Morocco, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Panama, Peru, Puerto Rico, Republic of Korea, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey and Yemen participated in the tournament that began onAugust 25 with the poomsae modality and will end on August 27 with the cadet, junior and open categorie.

Palacio de los Deportes, Heredia Costa Rica.

➡️ Femenil.

磊Karoline Castillo PAN
賂Sarai Sánchez PUR
雷Marcela Rodríguez NCA
雷Verónica Vega PUR

磊Giulia Sendra ARG
賂Ariana Portugués CRC
雷Ashley Taylor USA
雷Nivea Barros BRA

磊Fabiola Villegas MEX
賂Josipa Kafadar CAN
雷Larissa Nascimento BRA
雷Keishlie Santiago PUR

磊Neshie Lee Lindo CRC
賂Anel Félix MEX
雷Marcela Díaz CRC
雷Melissa Castillo MEX

磊Itzel Velásquez MEX
賂Nicole Tubbs CAM
雷Britney Morales USA
雷Nicole Vargas CRC

磊Isabella Díaz PUR
賂Victoria Rivas ARG
雷Naishka Román PUR

磊Candela Cazzapa ARG
賂Ana Morais BRA
雷Karla Lucia Pérez MEX
雷Yoselin Molina HON

磊Gabriele Siquiera BRA
賂Keyla Ávila HON
雷Evelyn Murcia ESA
雷Andrea Brenes CRC


磊 Aubin De Giovanny BRA
賂 Cristian Correa ARG
雷 José Castañeda MEX
雷 Lester Rodríguez NCA

磊 Brandon Plaza MEX
賂 Pablo Solano CRC
雷 Santino Policeli ARG
雷 Edgar Rivera PUR

磊Lucas Guzmán ARG
賂 Carlos Navarro ARG
雷De Luis PUR
雷 César Jiménez CRC

磊Iker Casas MEX
賂Joao Victor BRA
雷 Santiago Campos ARG
雷 Adrián Benítez PUR

磊 Uriel Gómez MEX
賂 Ricardo Suzuki JPN
雷 Juan Soto CRC
雷 Luís Colón PUR

磊 José Pastor MEX
賂 Alejandro González PUR
雷 Henrique Marques Rodríguez BRA
雷 David Robleto NCA

磊 Bryan Salazar MEX
賂 Michael Rodríguez USA
雷 Juan Esquivel MEX
雷 Arash Mozdhe AUS

磊 Carlos Sansores MEX
賂 Jerry Luis Vasquez PUR
雷 Alex Vargas CHI
雷Hansel Llanos USA